Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Voted Against VAWA

If someone votes against the bill that funds programs for abuse victims, does that mean that senator is against women getting help following abuse?  You decide.

The reauthorization of VAWA (Violence Against Women Act) passed this afternoon in the U.S. Senate.  There were Senators that voted against the bill, and their names are listed below:

U.S. Senate S.47 Vote#19:

NAYs ---22
Barrasso (R-WY)
Blunt (R-MO)
Boozman (R-AR)
Coburn (R-OK)
Cornyn (R-TX)
Cruz (R-TX)
Enzi (R-WY)
Graham (R-SC)
Grassley (R-IA)
Hatch (R-UT)
Inhofe (R-OK)
Johanns (R-NE)
Johnson (R-WI)
Lee (R-UT)
McConnell (R-KY)
Paul (R-KY)
Risch (R-ID)
Roberts (R-KS)
Rubio (R-FL)
Scott (R-SC)
Sessions (R-AL)
Thune (R-SD)

As women, we need to remind others that these Republicans voted against this important legislation.  You might want to note that the two Republicans that many in their party regard as their future leaders, Cruz and Rubio, voted against VAWA.